Carr Hill duo taking on mantle of Clough and Taylor

The combination of headmaster Neil Moore and coach Paul Vardy is beginning to take on the mantle of Brian Clough and Peter Taylor, as Carr Hill accumulate almost every honour available to them.

Tuesday, 8th May 2012, 4:50 pm

Three successive Division One titles, three years out of four Parry Cup winners and this week the Champion of Champions title is theirs for the taking when they meet Division Two winners Sir Edmund Hillary.

Their third Parry Cup success in four years came at Harworth last week when they emerged as 5-1 winners over Redlands .

The scoreline does not do credit to a Redlands squad that battled well throughout the game, had spells when they took the game to Carr Hill and created a number of chances.

The difference between the two sides was Carr Hill’s ruthlessness in front of goal.

Oliver Ashwell opened the scoring with a brilliant strike from the edge of the area and goal machine Jay Smith made goalscoring look easy with yet another hat-trick before Alex Wonham made it five.

Redlands well deserved consolation goal came from James Savage who was on hand to stroke home a rebound from a Ryan Dixon rocket of a shot.

The Small Schools final needed extra-time to find a winner.

Gamston and Blyth provided another entertaining game.

Blyth ’s ever dangerous Archie Lewis and Oliver Beckett earned them the lead after trailing to an early Gamston goal, before Matthew Shaw (2), Cory Fieldsend and Luke Woodward made it 4-2 to Gamston and a cup and league double.

Like Carr Hill before them Gamston will now aim to make it a treble when they meet St Swithun’s in the Small Schools Champion of Champions final at Harworth tonight (Thursday).

Bassetlaw Boys, County Champions at five and seven-a-side, are another team looking for a treble in their last game of their very successful season when they meet the City of Nottingham Boys in the County Cup Final on the Nottingham Forest Academy Ground this week.

Bassetlaw manager, Alan Pressley has named his regular squad with Ethan Warner as goalkeeping cover.

The full squad is: Lewis Comley, Ethan Warner, Ryan Dixon (Redlands); George Atkinson (Clarborough): Adam Duffy, Kieron Hooley (Kingston Park): Finn Sweeetnam (Holy Family); Josh Hooton, Liam Frost (Sir Edmund Hillary); Luke Smith (Norbridge); Jay Smith (Carr Hill); Regan Watkinson (St Augustine’s); Jack Wilson (Harworth); Josh Robson (Bracken Lane). Staff: Messrs. Pressley, Tarr.