Mixed results for Blitz

BLITZ Table Tennis Club tasted mixed results at the first weekend of the National Junior League in Wellingborough.

Eighteen teams from across the country met at Westfield Table Tennis Club to battle it out for the Westfield Regional Title.

A slightly different format to previous years saw promotion and relegation introduced for the first two weekends, and for the final two weekends the divisions will be fixed.

Blitz A, placed in the top division, had a shock start against Draycott A, losing 6-0 to a team including former top 30 ranked junior Alistair Hawthorn.

In round two the local side were beaten 4-2 by last year’s champions, Bedford Mordern A, although Steven Johnson recorded an excellent 3-1 win over Sahad Ahmed, ranked well over 200 places higher. Jacob Marshall also recorded a 3-1 victory over Scott Neave.

A tight encounter with rivals Ancaster resulted in a 4-2 loss, in round four they went down 6-0 to Rugby A and in the final outing they were beaten 4-2 by Werrington Aces.

Blitz B on the other hand were put into Division Three and got off to a flying start, recording a 4-2 win over Werrington Two + Two, with Laurence Sobieraj remaining undefeated.

They won their second match of the day 5-1 against Bedford Modern B with excellent wins from both Reece Simpson and Jack Senescall.

Round three saw Blitz B thrash Westfield B 5-1, with an outstanding win for Simpson over Alfie Wright. Sobieraj recorded a solid two wins for the team, with Senescall chipping in with one.

The fourth round of the weekend resulted in the B side’s only defeat, as they lost 6-0 to Wensum, but they came back in the final round to thrash Draycott C 5-1 thanks to outstanding performances from Simpson and Sobieraj.

Blitz A were relegated from Division One but Blitz B clinched promotion from Division Three.

Related topics: