Sheffield gig in the autumn from rising stars Night Flight

Night Flight

Monday, 21st June 2021, 12:00 am
See Night Flight at Sheffield Record Junkee later this year.

Sheffield Record Junkee, October 12.

Night Flight will set out on a UK tour this October, including a visit to Sheffield Record Junkee along the way. The London four-piece can boast a sound that brings in shades of everyone from The Band to Big Star to Elliot Smith while somehow sounding fresh and modern.Previous releases have seen the band compared to the likes of Wilco, My Morning Jacket, Band Of Horses, and even The Smiths.All four members — Sam Holmes (lead vocals, rhythm guitar), Oliver Halverson (bass, synths, backing vocals), Harry Phillips (lead guitar, backing vocals), and Dan Webb (drums) - contribute to the writing process, which is why so many disparate elements creep into the Night Flight sound.“We’ve got to the point where it feels like a collective,” says Sam, who cemented Night Flight’s current line-up three years ago.“We’ve always been a songwriting band and that hasn’t changed.”

A message from the Editor:

Thank you for reading this story on our website. While I have your attention, I also have an important request to make of you.

In order for us to continue to provide high quality and trusted local news on this free-to-read site, I am asking you to also please purchase a copy of our newspaper.

Our journalists are highly trained and our content is independently regulated by IPSO to some of the most rigorous standards in the world. But being your eyes and ears comes at a price. So we need your support more than ever to buy our newspapers during this crisis.

With the coronavirus lockdowns having had a major impact on many of our local valued advertisers - and consequently the advertising that we receive - we are more reliant than ever on you helping us to provide you with news and information by buying a copy of our newspaper.

Thank you