Wheelers’ Paul Johnson Memorial time trial won by Lutterworth Cycle Centre’s Sinclair

Retford and District Wheelers held their Paul Johnson Memorial 10 mile time trial on Sunday.

Thursday, 19th March 2015, 9:56 am

Conditions were cold but dry for the 60 riders on the start sheet.

The winner was Matt Sinclair, of Lutterworth Cycle Centre, with an event record time of 19:57, and in second place was Justin Layne from CC Ashwell recording 20:28.

Daniel Barnett of Drag2Zero finished in 20:47 and scooped the fastest veteran award from a previous winner of this event, Julian Ramsbottom (Pedal Pushers RT) who recorded 20:48.

IIn the ladies event Karen Ledger of Langsett Cycles RT topped the results board with 23:49 followed by Phillippa Shubert (High Wycombe CC) in 26:27 and in third Louise Day, (Team Swift) with 26:32.

Other local riders competing were Robin McKinnon (Harworth CC) 22-29; Callum Lawson (Andy Moore Auto Centre) 23:29; Dave Clarke (Harworth CC) 23:45; Steve Hilbert (VC Lincoln 26:12); Jane Roberts (VC Lincoln) 27:23 and Rebecca Smith (Sheffield University CC) 41:12.

This Sunday’s club ride is to Caenby Corner, the distance will be around 65 miles for the round trip depending on which group is chosen.

Both groups are to meet in Retford market square at 9.30am.

Guest riders welcome