Ward sets GB fastest times

CLOWNE Road Runner Andy Ward is in the midst of another stellar season.

Saturday, 14th April 2012, 10:01 am

The long distance specialist has set the two fastest times for 10k road racing in Great Britain so far in 2012.

He finished second overall, and first in the veterans section, at the Lincoln 10k in a time of 30:28, and followed that with third overall and first veteran at the Salford 10k in 30:14.

Ward will hope to continue his fine form at the Bupa Manchester 10k, which will be televised live on 20th May by the BBC.

Another Road Runner in prolific form is Dennis Learad, who completed the Cloud 9 Hill Race, the Notts Fell Race Championships, Lad’s Leap and the Silkstone Shuffle.

He took silver in the vets category in the fell race championships and won the over 60s bottle of wine at Silkstone.

Clubmate Lewis Banton was the first Road Runner home at the Wolf’s Pit Fell Race on 11th March, the first event in the club’s 2012 Grand Prix.

The results were as follows: 14th Lewis Banton 43:25 (time), 78th Robert Wain 51:48, 80th Simon Sleney 51:54, 84th Steven Battle 51:59, 135th Dennis Learad 57:56, 151th Steve Hattersley 00:59:48, 152nd Paul Sadler 59:56, 161st Chris Lane 01:00:39, 176th Roger Fokinther 01:02:40, 178th Gemma Scougal 01:02:44, 183rd Jacqueline Robson 01:04:14, 184th Stephen Radford 01:04:19, 192nd Mark Waller 01:05:14.

Retford was the venue for the final cross country race of the season and Clowne slipped into second place, behind Killamarsh Kestrels.

A club spokesman told the Guardian: “There were some great times and the four cross country races are challenging, especially for new runners.”

“Hopefully, with a bit of hard training, we will regain the trophy next year.”

Paul Sadler and Richard Stoker took on the South Yorkshire Half Marathon in 1:29:01 and 1:35:36 respectively, and Banton was back in action at the Heptonstall Fell Race.

In the Rossington Gallop, at the start of April, Dan Keeling led the Clowne athletes home in a time of 44:42, followed by Steven Radford (49:24), Dave Keeling (58:03) and Deborah Leese (58:14).