Speedway: Sheffield 56, Berwick 36 - Josh Bates stars as Sheffield continue Premier League play-off push

editorial image

Sheffield kept up their Premier League play-off push with an empathic 56-36 win over Berwick at Owerton tonight.

Teenager Josh Bates was in spectacular form as he piled up a paid-15 total at reserve, whilst Jason Garrity went through the card with a four-ride maximum.

Race wins were also plentiful through the rest of the order as the Tigers moved ten points clear of the Bandits, who now sit just outside the top six after Ipswich were also winners on Thursday.

Bates got Sheffield off to a flyer with a win over Berwick guest Ryan Fisher in the opening race, and then he combined for maximum points with Arthur Sissis over the Bandits’ reserves, with Richard Hall enduring a nightmare return to Owlerton.

Tigers had far too much speed for their opponents and raced into a 14-point lead after six races, with Berwick’s double-points bid for Kevin Doolan in Heat 7 frustrated by captain Andre Compton.

Just when the visitors looked set to provide a race winner, Garrity steamed past Doolan midway through Heat 9, and it took until the twelfth instalment when Bates came to grief after five unbeaten rides for the Bandits to notch their sole success, with a 5-1 from Thomas Jorgensen and Liam Carr.Guest Craig Cook picked up his second win of the night in Heat 13 as Compton retrieved third from Doolan, and another 4-2 followed in the next as Garrity completed his personal full house.

Compton was squeezed out of Heat 15 by Jorgensen and Doolan on successive laps but Cook was out front again with Tigers well worth their victory margin.

Next up is a busy weekend starting at champions Edinburgh tomorrow night, where Cameron Heeps guests for the unavailable Garrity and Aaron Summers comes in for Simon Stead at No.1. Tigers then travel to Newcastle on Sunday.

n Sheffield 56: Josh Bates 14+1, Jason Garrity 12, Craig Cook 11, Andre Compton 8, David Bellego 7+1, Arthur Sissis 4+1, Ashley Birks r/r.

n Berwick 36: Thomas Jorgensen 11+2, Kevin Doolan 11+1, Ryan Fisher 8+1, Fernando Garcia 3, Liam Carr 2+1, Richard Hall 1, Claus Vissing r/r.