Snooker: Title rivals go to battle in Worksop season opener

Guardian Sport Logo, Snooker
Guardian Sport Logo, Snooker
Share this article

The new Worksop Snooker League season got underway last week, with the fixtures throwing up an early clash between the two most dominant sides of the last five years.

Last year’s Division One champions, Notts Arena, took on runners up Breakers X.

New X-men signing Daryll Peacock, Richard Griffiths and John Fisher, who narrowily beat Ash Carty thanks to the maximum 60 start, inflicted an opening day 3-1 defeat on the champions who could only respond in frame two when captain Phil Linacre beat David Wheat.

It was much better news for the youth of Notts Arena B in Division Two who started with a win after beating Anston 3-1.

Harri Spencer won the opener backed up by a win from Stanley Street Champion Hayden Staniland and in the final frame by Oliver Turner.

Anston’s reply was in frame three when Bruce Elliot beat Macauley Croft.

Stanley C came out on top in the local derby with Stanley B thanks to winning trio Nigel Bond, C. Hewit and Scott Wilson.

Phil Stevens took the last frame to give Stanley B a point.


Division One: Welbeck B 2-2 Warsop WMC, Notts Arena 1-3 Breakers X, Stanley St G 1-3 Clipstone, Grove Mill 2-2 Breakers S, Dinnington C 3-1 Notts Arena C, Ex-servicemen 2-2 Bassetlaw C, Langold Pocket 2-2 Welbeck A.

Division Two: Stanley St C 3-1 Stanley St B, Hodthorpe A 3-1 Hodthorpe B, Dinnington A 1-3 Bowling Club, Harworth B 2-2 Institute A, Notts Arena B 3-1 Anston WMC, Tickhill B 3-1 Woodend Pub.

Bye – Stanley St A.


Division One

Stanley St G v Notts Arena, Grove Mill v Welbeck B, Dinnington C v Warsop WMC, Ex-serviemen v Breakers X, Welbeck A v Clipstone, Bassetlaw C v Breakers S, Langold Pocket v Notts Arena C.

Division Two: Hodthorpe B v Bowling Club, Stanley St B v Tickhill Institute A, Stanley St C v Anston WMC, Hodthorpe A v Woodend Pub, Dinnington A v Stanley St A, Harworth B v Tickhill Institute B.

Bye – Notts Arena B.