Snooker: League leading Warsop men stunned by Breakers side

editorial image

The final Worksop Snooker League fixtures of 2014 saw a host of 4-0 wins in Division One.

Breakers S stunned leaders Warsop WMC with a 4-0 win thanks to frames from L. Wiggleworth, S. Witham, John Bell and Shane Robinson.

Despite the loss Warsop WMC remain joint top with Breakers X who could only manage a 2-2 draw away at Clipstone. Breakers S now sit joint third after their win with Welbeck A who was stunned by a 4-0 home loss to Stanley G.

Wayne Heath, Andy Camm, Russ Cairns and Mick Camm beat a strong Welbeck team of Phil Robinson, Richard Hill, Tony Shaw and Simon Broughton respectively.

The two other 4-0 wins came for both Arena teams.

Notts Arena C beat Welbeck B at home thanks to Karl Goudling, Karl Creswick, Phil Clarke and Richard Young.

Meanwhile Champions Notts Arena thumped Bassetlaw C away with wins from Daz Medcalf, Martin O’Connor, Richard Field and Ricky Morris.

Other results: Langold Pocket 3-1 Dinnington C, Ex-Servicemen 2-2 Grove Mill.

Fixtures: Warsop WMC v Welbeck B, Breakers X v Notts Arena, Clipstone v Stanley St G, Breakers S v Grove Mill, Notts Arena C v Dinnington C, Bassetlaw C v Ex-servicemen, Welbeck A v Langold Pocket.

In Division Two, Notts Arena B sat top at Christmas thanks to a 3-1 win against Stanley B before the Christmas break.

Dinnington A beat Hodthorpe 3-1 thanks to the winning trio of R Turner, M Lancashire and N Proctor.

The win moved the A team of Dinnington into joint second with Anston WMC who sat out a bye.

Stanley A shocked Bowling Club with a 4-0 away victory, John Williams, Jess Woodward, Cliff Headley and Peter Eyre were the winning quartet.

Hodthorpe B were the team at the bottom for Christmas after a 3-1 loss to Tickhill, their eighth defeat of the season.

Hodthorpe won the opener through D. Mackenzie however John Hartley, Chris Hambrey and E Ellen won the next three frames to see Tickhill B end the year on a high.

Other results: Institute A 1-3 Woodend Pub, Stanley C 2-2 Harworth. Bye - Anston.

Knockout Cup Draw: Anston WMC v Notts Arena C, Stanley St B v Harworth, Tickhill B v Breakers X, Woodend Pub v Breakers S.

Ties to be played by 31st January 2015.