Prizes dished out to successful Harriers

Worksop Harriers Juniors
Worksop Harriers Juniors
Share this article

TO mark the end of another successful season the Worksop Harriers held their annual presentation evening at Worksop Cricket club.

The presentations were made by the Harriers president Mike Paxman & chairman Peter Fendley.

The Grand Prix winners were as follows:

Under 9 girls: Georgia Dickinson; Under 9 boys: Regan Langley; Under 11 girls: Lucy Harrop; Under 11 boys joint winners: Nathan Langley and James Carratt; Under 13 girls: Lauren Ward; Under 13 boys: Thomas Carratt; Under 15 girls: Sarah Gooch; Under 15 boys: Ben Twible; Overall junior winner: Sarah Gooch; Senior lady: Adele Bryan; Senior man: Paul Dickinson; V35 lady: Carol Lonsdale; V40 lady: Tracey West; V40 man: Jimmy Kelly; V45 Man: John Harrisonl; V50 man: John Hewitt; V55 man: Peter Fendley; V60 man: Keith Hopkinson; V70 man: Trevor Platts; Overall senior winners: Tracey West and Paul Dickinson

The trophies for the club Half Marathon Championships were also won by Tracey West and Paul Dickinson.

Ellie Wheatley and James Lonsdale were the first girl and boy home in the Worksop Fun Run.

An award was made to Jack Harrop for competing for the club through every junior age category.

Brett Garratt, Sophie Mills and Sarah Gooch were the winners of the combined events at the Club Track and Field Championships.

A special award was made to Kevin Ruane for being the club’s ‘loudest supporter’.

The award for the ‘Athlete of the Year’ went to James Lonsdale to mark his exceptional performances throughout the season.


THE Midlands Cross-Country Championships were held at Leamington Spa where the Harriers runners finished as follows: John Hewitt (114th, 48:40), Paul Dickinson (159th, 51:15), David Havenhand (191st, 53:31), Steve Battle (208th, 55:06).

The club also had runners in the Bolsover 10k, which was rescheduled from its December date due to the snow, where they finished: Tony Jenks (114th, 43:15 PB), Peter Fendley (131st, 44:14), Jimmy Kelly (209th, 47:13), Julie Bonser (245th, 48:25), Geoff Gorringe (284th, 49:37).