Lee Westwood Trophy gets underway

editorial image

The Lee Westwood Trophy get sunderway today at Rotherham Golf Club.

The trophy is being staged for the 11th year, has attracted a full field of 141 players from around the region and beyond – including elite players from Sweden, Abu Dhabi, Dubai, France and Jersey.

Current holder Joe Dean from Lindrick (pictured) will miss the opportunity of recording a consecutive hat trick of wins – the English Amateur champion is included in England’s team for the Home Internationals at Royal Portrush Golf Club in County Antrim, Ireland. With him is last year’s tied runner up, fellow Yorkshire star Jamie Bower.

Dean set a tournament record last year to retain the trophy last leading from the start in the 72-hole world-ranking event. His record score of 266 was one shot lower than previous best set by Gary Wolstenholme in 2008.

The Lee Westwood Trophy is one of England’s top amateur events. Officially known as The Rotherham Golf Club Open Strokeplay Championship, this annual World Amateur Golf Ranking PING/EGU order of merit 72-hole event is one of the region’s major highlights of the golfing season.

Winners include David Horsey (European Tour Player and BMW International Open Champion) and arguably the greatest amateur golfer England has ever produced, Gary Wolstenholme.