Cowburn is crowned as 2014 Hard Bat winner

Peter Cowburn is this season’s Hard Bat Champion, after a fabulous tournament at Worksop Leisure Centre.

Twenty players were all seeded and split into four groups of five players with a round robin format.

All the group winners remained unbeaten, Cowburn taking Group A, Peter Eyre Group B, Nigel Stent Group C and Mick Bell Group D.

Bell had only just arrived back from holiday on the morning of the competition and coupled with some close games had to retire due to fatigue before the semi finals.

John Nelson, who had finished runner up in Bell’s group, was deservedly put through to play Cowburn in the first semi-final but lost 31-19.

In the second semi-final club team mates Stent and Eyre did battle, with Eyre winner 31-14.

Int he final Eyre chiselled out an early lead and at one stage led 7-1.

Cowburn eventually levelled the scores at 27-27 before going 28-27, 29-28 and 30-29 ahead.

When Eyre clawed it back to 30-30 it was next point wins, and Cowburn held his nerve to take the title.

This week the quarter-finals of The Handicap Shield took place, with two teams from Ryton Park making it through to the semi-finals.

Division Three side The Falcons lost every game to Division One’s MBE, but won thanks to the handicap.

Falcons trio of Jordan Potter and brothers Nathan and Regan Langley got through by a 387-378 score.

The Cougars lost 360-275 to the Tarr Babies on the night, but the handicap of 100 saw them through.

Tarr Babies Keiran Tutter and Daniel Cutts returned maximum points but Jack Tarr lost to both Dave Lee and Ivan Stalworthy, before beating Dave Rix.

The Rookies, Alan Keeling, Bob Atkinson and Derek Piper, had a 362-340 win over Stanley Street Cypriots, Graham Stent, Adam Hamilton and Tom Parker.