Meteors shot down by league’s leaders

GAINSBOROUGH and District Table Tennis Division One leaders Blitz Club Aardvarks remain unbeaten with games in hand after an 8-2 win over Liberal Branch Meteors.

By The Newsroom
Tuesday, 26th February 2013, 9:56 am
Gainsborough Table Tennis league, pictured is Daniel Davies (G130212-6q)
Gainsborough Table Tennis league, pictured is Daniel Davies (G130212-6q)

Both Clive Mitchell and Paul Rodgers won all their singles games for the leaders.

Aardvarks’ nearest rivals, Blues Club Beacons thrashed a two-man Blues Club Aces 9-1.

Bottom of the table Blitz Bunnies put on a good display against clubmates Chunky Monkeys in a 5-5 draw.

Division Two leaders Blues Dynamics lost their unbeaten run to the Blitz Eagles, for whom Ryan Mitchell and Daniel Davies starred in an 8-2 win.

Methodist Batmen took an 8-2 win over Blitz Gallacticos.

At the foot of the table Willingham Wizards claimed their second win of the season, hammering Blitz Hyenas 10-0.

In the Calcutta Cup Willingham Wizards made the final, beating Methodist Batmen by 17 points, and will face Chunky Monkeys or Gallacticos.

Time is running out for players to enter the league’s championships on 10th March at Gainsborough High School. Entry forms are in the handbooks.

Team votes for the most sporting player are also being sought by the league secretary.

Results: Division One - Meteors 2 (M. Tindall 1, R. Ellis 1), Aardvarks 8 (C. Mitchell 3, J. Cooper 1, P. Rodgers 3, doubles); Aces 1 (B. Lamb 1), Beacons 9 (P. Dixon 1, D. Brumpton 2, R. Garner 2, 3 by default, doubles); Bunnies 5 (J. Wynne 2, K. Hutson 2, R. Simpson 1), Chunky Monkeys 5 (P. Johnson 3, S. Johnson 1, doubles).

Division Two - Dynamics 2 (M. Ayris 1, R. Lovely 1), Eagles 8 (R. Mitchell 3, H. Tomlinson 1, D. Davies 3, plus doubles); Gallacticos 2 (T. Arber 1, J. Sheehan 1), Batmen 8 (M. Longstaff Snr 3, T. Lovely 3, M. Longstaff Jnr 1, doubles); Wizards 10 (S. Wilkins 3, R. Mann 3, K. Birkett 3, doubles), Hyenas 0.

Calcutta Cup - Batmen 358 (Mark Longstaff 126, Tom Lovely 117, Ken Eliot 115), Wizards 375 (Rick Mann 49, Kev Birkett 114, Sam Wilkins 52, plus 160).