Harriers in the running for top award

THE Worksop Harriers are in the running to become the County’s best sports club of 2012.

By The Newsroom
Sunday, 13th January 2013, 8:32 am

The Notts Sports Awards, organised annually by the county council, celebrate the cream of talent across a wide range of sports.

And among the nominees are Worksop’s own athletics club, a Harriers stalwart and a campaign they played a huge part in during the Olympic year.

The Harriers feature in the Club of the Year shortlist, alongside the likes of Beeston Hockey Club and Newark Castle Cycling Club.

And there could be a double celebration for the Harriers at the awards event on 12th February at the East Midlands Conference Centre in Nottingham. Coach Richard Harrop has been named in the finalists for the Volunteer of the Year award.

The Bassetlaw Games campaign, set up by MP John Mann and Bassetlaw Council and backed by the Worksop Guardian along with various local bodies and organisations, is nominated for the Sporting Project of the Year award.

The Games attracted tens of thousands of local people to sporting events, in a bid to increase athletic participation in the district.

Retford swimmer Joseph Seage is a finalist in the Junior Disabled Sports Person of the Year category, and Outwood Academy Valley are in the running for the Sporting School of the Year gong.

Taekwondo starlet Sophie Savage, previously a winner at the Bassetlaw Sports Awards, has also been shortlisted, in the Junior Sports Person of the Year section.

Coun John Cottee, committee chairman for culture, at Notts County Council, said: “We enjoyed an unforgettable summer of sport and 2012 was fantastic for so many sporting achievements.

We have a reputation as ‘the sporting county’ and the annual Sports Awards are a fantastic celebration of talent.”

“They also give us the opportunity to acknowledge the backroom staff who put so much work into supporting sport across the county.”

l Club of the Year: Beeston Hockey Club, Gedling Southbank Football Club, Newark Castle Cycling Club, Sutton Sting Ice Hockey Club, Worksop Harriers Athletics Club.

l Community Coach of the Year: Clive Morris (Hockey), Dean Hughes (Triathlon), Ian Sturgess (Football), Scott Chadburn (Football), Ted Grey (Athletics).

l Disabled Sports Person of the Year: Charlotte Henshaw (Swimming), Natalie Blake (Power Lifting), Oliver Hynd (S wimming), Richard Whitehead (Athletics), Sophie Wells (Para Dressage).

l Junior Disabled Sports Person of the Year: Joseph Seage (Swimming), Karl Hassell (Wheelchair Basketball), Patrick Mawson (Boccia), Sam Oldknow (Boccia), Tom Jalland (Kayaking).

l Junior Sports Person of the Year: Ellie Downie (Gymnastics), Jessica Urquhart (Ice Sports), Kyle Ryde (Motorsports), Natasha Hofton (Swimming), Sophie Savage (Taekwondo.)

l Junior Team of the Year: Beeston Hockey Club (Under 18 Girls Hockey), Gedling School (Under 14 Girls Football), Jesse Gray Primary School (Cricket Team), Notts Cricket Board (Boys Under 17 Team), Oak Tree Primary School (Girls Cricket Team).

l Performance Coach of the Year: Glenn Smith (Swimming), Bill Furniss (Swimming), Carole Johnson (Swimming), Claire Parnell (Rowing), Tim Stevenson (Strength & Conditioning).

l Sporting School of the Year: Nottingham Girls’ High School, Outwood Acedemy Valley, St Peter’s C of E Primary School, West Bridgford School, Whitemoor Academy.

l Sports Person of the Year: Carl Froch (Boxing), George Pinner (Hockey), Rebecca Adlington OBE (Swimming), Sam Oldham (Gymnastics), Sophie Bradley (Football).

l Team of the Year: Beeston Hockey Club (Men’s First Team), Canoe Slalom C2 Team (Etienne Stott and Tim Ballie), Cuckney Cricket Club (Men’s First Team) Mansfield Rugby Club (Men’s First Team), Nottingham Panthers Ice Hockey Club.

l Volunteer of the Year: Aimee Farmery (Multi-Sports), Alex Cross (Swimming), Helen Hood (Athletics), Richard Harrop (Athletics), Simon Brammer (Football).

l Young Coach of the Year: Bethany Mitchell (Athletics), Dan Edson (Rugby), Kaylea McQuade (Netball), Serena Bignell (Athletics), Shanice Kinkaid (Boxing).

l Sporting Project of the Year: Active Ashfield Games (Multi-Sports), Adopt a Wicket (Cricket), Disability Cricket Programme (Cricket), RideWise (Cycling), The Bassetlaw Games (Multi-Sports).

l Junior Volunteer of the Year: Beth Parr (Multi-Sports), Chloe Whitworth (Rambling), Eddie Fenwick (Multi-Sports), Katie Howie (Hockey), Lucy Owens (Netball).