Friday on the Fairway

The British Boys Golf Championship was held last week over at the Notts Golf Club and Coxmoor courses.

Monday, 27th August 2012, 10:03 am

There were just two local players in the field. Worksop Golf Clubs Reece Thorlby-Coy qualified for the event at his home course as did Jonathan Thomson from Lindrick.

Reece Thorlby-Coy missed out on a place in the Matchplay section of the tournament by an agonising one shot.

At Coxmoor he shot a three over par 75, having a poor start with four bogies in the first nine holes but three birdies on the back nine improved his score.

The Holinwell course proved harder for the Worksop player as he opened with four bogies in the first five holes, just two birdies saw him shoot a 77 for a total of 152, eight over par and miss out.

Jonathan Thomson had a round of 80 at Holinwell and despite birdying the first at Coxmoor he could only manage an 82 for a total of 162.


The British Seniors Championship was played in South Wales over the Machynys Peninsula course. Local player Stuart Pond (Worksop Golf Club) had rounds of 81-77=158, 14 over par and missed the cut.


Worksop Golf Club Newcastle Cups saw Division One won by L Booth 69-0=69 from M Coss 79-10=69 and R Smith 81-12=69. Division Two went to D Dickinson 86-13=73 from C Taylor 86-13=73 and R Sidwell 94-19=75.


Medal No. 10 Division One winner was T Slack 76-8=68 from M Hadfield 67-+1=68 and K Turner 77-7=70.

Division Two C Hayes 81-13=68 from L Laver 84-14=70 and N Batty 83-12=71.

Division Three M Dalzell 92-18=74 from J Dernie 92-18=74 and T Rex 91-17=74.

The Ladies Medal No. 9 and Longbottom No. 5. Silver Division went to A Higgins 94-13=81 from H Ikert 98-14=84 and L Spencer 97-12=85. Bronze Division V St John 107-21=86 from M Waring 115-27=88 and B Sandham 116-28=88.

Medal No. 10 winner was H Ikert 85-14=71 from S Sutcliffe 100-23=77 and A Burrows 94-17=77.


Results from the Junior Section. Bogey Comp winner A Dawson 5up from C Stansbury 4up and K Thorpe 1up.

Junior Stableford B Tomlinson 41 points from C Stansbury 39 and L Booth 39. The 36 hole comp went to J Sweetnam 75-70=145 from D Allison 75-70=145 and C Barlow 78-68=146.

The Nick Walling Trophy was won by M Freeman 89-17=72 from K Stockdale 77-5=72 and K Thorpe 82-9=73.


Serlby Park Thursday Stableford was won by Ralph Davenport 40 points from Bruce Greenwood 37 and Ayden Hall 36.

The Ladies Annual Medal was won by Barbara Batty 83-19=64 from Sarah Donegan 81-16-65, Ann Pepper 87-18=69, Cynthia James 84-13=71 and June Batty 81-10=71.