Sheffield Wednesday: Owls star named in PFA Championship team of the year

Owls Player of the Year Keiren Westwood
Owls Player of the Year Keiren Westwood

Sheffield Wednesday’s player of the season Keiren Westwood has been named in the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) Championship Team of the Year.

The shot-stopper has been instrumental in the Owls equalling a club-record 17 clean sheets in a league season this year.

Wednesday boast one of the meanest defences outside of the top-four, conceding just 48 goals in 45 matches, and Republic of Ireland international Westwood has played a key role in their success, producing a series of impressive performances.

The 30-year-old was unable to stop Wednesday from sliding to a 2-1 defeat to Leeds United in their final Hillsborough match of the campaign yesterday.

Westwood is the only Owls man to make the team, which was voted for by Championship players.

The full team is: Goalkeeper - Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday); defenders - Russell Martin (Norwich), Richard Keogh (Derby County), George Friend (Middlesbrough), Simon Francis (Bournemouth); midfielders - Matt Ritchie (Bournemouth), Grant Leadbitter (Middlesbrough), Bakary Sako (Wolves), Alex Pritchard (Brentford); strikers - Daryl Murphy (Ipswich), Troy Deeney (Watford).