Honours for Park girls

RYTON Park Girls brought further honours to Bassetlaw when they won the County Girls Championship title in convincing style.

After amassing 15 goals without reply in the group stages against Holly Hill of Ashfield, Eastlands from Meden Vale and Samuel Barlow from Clipstone, they faced tougher opposition in the semi-final needing penalties to eliminate West Bridgford school representing Rushcliffe.

The final saw a repeat of their earlier defeat of Eastlands this time by three goals without reply.

The outstanding Maddy Cooper was responsible for 15 of the Ryton Park goals, also doubling as a goalkeeper in the penalty shoot-out and was undoubtedly the player of the tournament.

One player does not make a team however and coach Mary Paton is to be congratulated on producing another excellent team around Maddy.

Ryton Park now progress to the Midland Counties finals in March aiming to reach the National Finals for the second successive year.

Bassetlaw Boys maintained their hundred percent record in a closely fought encounter with the City of Leeds Boys.

Debutant Regan Watkinson crowned a first class all-round performance with the only goal of the game in a first half dominated by Bassetlaw but without four key players the second half saw a great change with Leeds on top and the Bassetlaw goal under siege for the last 10 minutes.

On this occasion it was the Bassetlaw goalkeeper George Atkinson’s turn to star.

Two remarkable saves and a gritty defensive rearguard enabled Bassetlaw to show their depth of talent and to make it four wins in a row.

On Saturday the boys travel to Sutton-in-Ashfield to compete in the County Inter District Seven-a-side Championships when the invited squad is: Curtis Toulson (Ryton Park); Luke Carey, Jay Smith (Carr Hill); Ethan Warner, James Savage, Lewis Comley, Ryan Dixon (Redlands); Adam Duffy, Kieron Hooley (Kingston Park); Alex Bennett (St Joseph’s); George Atkinson (Clarborough); Regan Watkinson (St Augustine’s); Josh Hooton, Liam Frost (Sir Edmund Hillary); Luke Smith (Norbridge); Finn Sweetnam (Holy Family); Josh Robson (Bracken Lane). Staff: Messrs Presley, Lambley, Tarr.

The same squad also meet on Tuesday at the North Notts Arena at 5pm for further Futsal training.

Related topics: