Entries up for schools cricket

Entries are up for this year, the 27th running of the Bassetlaw Schools Mini-cricket Championship, including holders Everton village school, and last year’s runners-up Ryton Park.

Twenty-one teams will contest this year’s tournament including previous winners Haggonfields (1999), ( St Augustine’s (2004 and 2008), North Leverton (2007 and 2009) and Sir Edmund Hillary (2006).

Previous individuals now making a name for themselves at professional level are Jake Ball (Cuckney) and Brett Hutton (Ramsden) who are both signed with Nottinghamshire.

The draw for the first group stage is as follows:

Group One: Gamston, Haggonfields, Gringley.

Group Two: Redlands, Sir Edmund Hillary, Prospect Hill, St Augustine’s.

Group Three: Serlby Park, Everton, St Anne’s, Carlton Ramsden.

Group Four: St John’s, Ordsall, Ryton Park, Bracken Lane.

Group Five: St John’s B, Redlands B, Sir Edmund Hillary B.

Group Six: Blyth, Leverton, Misson, Ryton Park B.

St John’s will go into the tournament with their confidence high after two excellent performances in the County Winter Indoor Finals at Trent Bridge last week.

They represented Bassetlaw and finished runners-up after defeating reigning champions Oak Tree of Mansfield in the semi-final.

In the final the Bassetlaw school lost narrowly to Plumtree of Rushcliffe.