Edwinstowe was cyclists’ destination

Edwinstowe was the destination of Gainsborough Aegir Cycling Club’s first club leisure ride of the year on Sunday, a tradition dating back to January 1936.

Thursday, 10th January 2013, 12:49 pm

Those taking part were Trevor Halstead, Paul Reynolds, Dave Walker, Colin Smith, Pete Hanks, Joe Smith (16), Dave Day and Daniel Nicholson. Dave Chaffey joined the group at Beckingham.

The cyclists enjoyed lunch at The Major Oak Visitor’s Centre.

On Sunday 13th January the club are offering cyclists a multiple option of rides to suit everyone starting from Roseway in Gainsborough at 9.20am.

Club members took part in many activities over the Christmas and New Year period.

For the first time since 2008 the club was able to run its annual Christmas nine-mile time trial as in recent years icy roads had prevented the race from going ahead.

Racing and touring cyclists riding racing, hybrid and touring cycles all met at the top of Thonock Hill on the Belt Road and at one minute intervals the riders were set of by Paul Reynolds and Joe Nash. The marshals were Dave Day and Mark Clark.

Full results and times were: 1, Jordan Skelly 25 minutes 43 seconds; 2, Matt Hindmarsh 30-03; 3, Liam Hindmarsh (13) 31-40; 4, Trevor Halstead 34-22; 5, Daniel Nicholson 37-36; 6, Colin Smith 38-50; 7, Dave Chaffey 40-47.

Private trials (non-club members): 1, Paul Clark (Lincoln Wheelers) 25-32; 2, Andy Lewin (Trent Valley Road Club) 27-05; 3, Ian Ferraby (Trent Valley Road Club) 28-05.

The fastest man by 11 seconds was Lincoln Wheelers rider Paul Clark and fastest Aegir man was Jordan Skelly.

After the event a group of Gainsborough Aegir Cycling Club members enjoyed a Christmas get-together and lunch at the Trent Port.

The club held its traditional Christmas Day ride which was enjoyed by Loll Dickenson, Trevor Halstead, Dave Day, Paul Reynolds, Colin Smith. Geoff Garner and Mark Clark, while on Boxing Day Trevor Halstead, David Day, Mark Clark, Colin Smith and Dave Chaffey took to their bikes for a 23-mile ride.

On Sunday 30th December Trevor Halstead, David Chaffey, Colin Smith, Joe Smith (16), Daniel Nicholson, Paul Reynolds and David Day took part in a 25-mile morning ride taking in Beckingham, Misterton, Gringley-on-the-Hill, Wiseton, North and South Wheatley, Sturton le Steeple, Saundby and Beckingham.

Trevor Halstead, Loll Dickenson, David Chaffey and David Day also enjoyed a New Year’s Day ride to Saxilby where an eight-mile time trial took place. Ray Newton and Jordan Skelly drove out to the event.

Jordan Skelly’s time (on race bike) was 20 minutes 23 seconds while Trevor Halstead’s time on a touring cycle was 27-27.