Notts open T20 Vitality Blast campaign at Yorkshire

Notts Outlaws will open their rearranged Vitality Blast campaign with a trip to face Yorkshire at Emerald Headingley.

Wednesday, 12th August 2020, 8:30 am
Dan Christian bats during last season's Vitality T20 Blast semi-final match against Worcestershire Rapids. (Photo by Alex Davidson/Getty Images)

The Outlaws, who will welcome white-ball specialists Alex Hales and Harry Gurney back into their squad for the competition, will begin a ten-match group stage in Leeds on Thursday 27 August at 6.30pm.

Notts will play six matches at home, including two clashes against Derbyshire Falcons. Subject to television coverage, all six will be streamed with a multi-camera production via the club’s official website.

“The start of the Blast tournament is always exciting,” said Notts Head Coach Peter Moores. “T20 is a form of the game where things happen quickly and that can make for great entertainment.

“It’s a tournament we played good cricket in last year and we’re proud of our consistent T20 record as a club.

“We’d like to have gone on to win it more often, and we have special memories from when we did lift the trophy in 2017. The objective for this year is to make some more.

“If it’s confirmed that we have to start the tournament without our members and fans in the ground, that’s going to feel very different. The electric atmosphere at Trent Bridge is something to which we have all become accustomed and enjoy.

“But what we’ve learned from the early red-ball matches is that the cricket in the middle has been no less keenly contested - and the lads are also very aware of how many people are watching and following online.

“We’ll go out there and represent them in the best way we can, by aiming to play entertaining, winning cricket.”

The group stages of the 2020 Vitality Blast will be played in three regional groups of six, with Notts Outlaws competing in the north group alongside Durham, Yorkshire, Lancashire, Derbyshire and Leicestershire.

The top two in each group and the two third placed teams with the highest points tally will qualify for the quarter-finals, to be played on Thursday 1 October. Finals Day will take place at Edgbaston two days later.

Notts Outlaws T20 Blast Fixtures

Thursday 27 August – Yorkshire Vikings at Emerald Headingley (6:35pm) (A)

Saturday 29 August – Durham at Emirates Riverside (2pm) (A)

Monday 31 August – Yorkshire Vikings at Trent Bridge (2pm) (H)

Wednesday 2 September – Lancashire Lightning at TBC (TBC) (A)

Friday 4 September – Leicestershire Foxes at Trent Bridge (6pm) (H)

Friday 11 September – Lancashire Lightning at Trent Bridge (6pm) (H)

Sunday 13 September – Derbyshire Falcons at Trent Bridge (2pm) (A)

Thursday 17 September – Derbyshire Falcons at Trent Bridge (6pm) (H)

Friday 18 September – Leicestershire Foxes at Fischer County Ground (5pm) (A)

Sunday 20 September – Durham at Trent Bridge (1pm) (H)

Telephone 0115 982 3048..............................................................Nottinghamshire County Cricket ClubTrent BridgeNottingham NG2 6AG..............................................................