Bassetlaw’s first week of fixtures

Skipper Martyn Snell wants to build a stable, secure club in his first season in charge at Marshalls Cricket Club.

Thursday, 25th April 2013, 3:55 pm
Bassetlaw Cricket League Division Four: Marshalls 2nds v Rose Leisure. Marshalls batsman Martin Snell G110723-3c

The opening batsman took over at Middlefield Lane last August, after the resignation of club stalwart Ian Brooks.

Although some in the Bassetlaw Cricket League are tipping the Gainsborough side to charge up the divisions following a voluntary drop to Division Four, Snell is keen to focus on off field activties.

The captain wants to see the club in a much more stable position at the end of 2013.

He said: “It’s no secret that at our November AGM we were left in a situation that was very bleak, but since that point it has bought people together and now everyone here is involved and pulling in the same direction as one club.”

“If we can create the same atmosphere in the team we had under Ian for years, we will have a highly enjoyable season.”

Hard work behind the scenes on the playing side should see many of the club’s younger players stepping up and playing an important role within the team.

“Quite a number of players have turned down the chance to play in higher divisions to stay this season and help us build and develop the club from the ground up,” sad Snell.

“I thank them for staying loyal and having the belief in what the club’s vision.”

A new committee has been elected and many members have become involved in the running of the club.

A major fundraising effort through the winter has put the club into a healthy position.

Snell added: “Huge thanks has to go to all the local firms who have bought into our new advertising and sponsorship opportunies.”

The 2013 season will see Marshalls welcome Lea Park to share their facilities.

Training takes place at the club every Thursday at 6.30pm.

The club are still accepting entries for its Bonus Ball bingo, with 70 signed up already – contact [email protected] for further details.

Marshalls CC (v North Wheatley with Leverton, away) M. Snell, N. Plumtree, B. Barker, L. Street, A. Turver, S. Metcalfe, B. Marriott, A. Arulananthan, M. Roebuck, M. Whitlam, J. Favill (wkt), 12th man Z. Metcalfe. Meet Trent Port 1pm.