Chunky Monkeys hold on to top spot with an 8-2 win

In Division One of the Gainsborough and District Table Tennis League, Blitz Chunky Monkeys kept a firm hold on top spot, with an 8-2 win over Liberal Branch Meteors.

For Chunky Monkeys Paul Johnson won his three rubbers to keep his 100 per cent unbeaten run, and he was well supported by Steve Johnson and Chris Gamble.

Blitz Bulldogs are the nearest rivals to Chunky Monkeys and they kept their stablemates in their sights with a good 8-2 win over Blitz Club Aardvarks, Kurt Hutson and Paul Rodgers winning their three rubbers.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

At the other end of the table Blues Club Beacons, following a bad start, are beginning to prove themselves and recorded a fine 9-1 victory over bottom team and clubmates Dynamics, a team who are still trying to come to terms with the division.

Division Two saw Methodist Batmen book their place at the top after a 7-3 win over Willingham Wizards and they are now the only unbeaten team.

Each of their players won two rubbers and Ken Eliot and Matt Longstaff took the doubles.

Blitz Eagles hammered clubmates Falcons 10-0 to put themselves up to second in the table.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The experience of the Blues Knights team could do little to precent an 8-2 beating by clubmates Challengers for whom Martin Sanderson starred.

Blues Kestrels were held to a draw by the lads from Willingham, a disappointing result for Kestrels as they dropped to third place.

Blitz Club Dynamos booked a place in the next round of the Calcutta Cup after defeating clubmates Bulldogs 390-378.

Results: Calcutta Cup - Dynamos 390 (J. Sheehan 78, J. Longstaff 67, T. Arber 65, handicap 180), Bulldogs 378 (K. Hutson 126, J. Mackey 126, R.Mitchell 126).

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Division One - Chunky Monkeys 8 (P. Johnson 3, S. Johnson 2, C. Gamble 2, doubles), Meteors 2 (M. Tindall 1, M. Betts 1); Aardvarks 2 (C. Mitchell 1, doubles), Bulldogs 8 (K. Hutson 3, J. Mackey 2, P. Rodgers 3); Beacons 9 (D. Brumpton 3, R. Garner 2, J. Clifford 3, doubles), Dynamics 1 (R. Lovely).

Division Two - Wizards 3 (K. Birkett 3), Batmen 7 (K. Eliot 2, Matt Longstaff 2, T. Lovely 2, doubles); Eagles 10 (H. Tomlinson 3, J. Croft 3, D. Davies 3, doubles), Falcons 0; Knights 2 (T. Howdle 1, B. Hodgson 1), Challengers 8 (D. Shelley 2, S. Edwards 2, M. Sanderson 3, doubles); Kestrels 5 (S. Mason 1, P. Gray 1, B. Reed 2, doubles), Wizards 5 (S. Wilkins 1, K. Birkett 3, M. Raisbroough 1); Batmen 7 (T. Lovely 2, K. Eliot 1, Mark Longstaff 3, doubles), Dynamos 3 (J. Sheehan 2, T. Arber 1).