Champions Blyth celebrate first trophy in a decade

editorial image
Share this article

Blyth are champions of Division Six after a winning draw at home to Wiseton on Saturday.

The title is the club’s first trophy for 10 years and the third promotion in two seasons.

On an overcast day, Blyth were put in to bat and lost early wickets to be 27 for 3.

Solid middle order batting from Nathan Morris (23), Andrew Toft (29) and Trev McLaughlin (30*) steered the home side to 138 for 8 with Matt Gorman taking three wickets and Matt Upton taking two for the visitors at Park Drive.

In reply, Wiseton also lost early wickets to Ryan Stubbins (13-7-9-4) and were well behind the required rate when rain halted play for 30 minutes at 6pm.

With half an hour to bowl 11 overs, Andy Brealey and Morris wheeled away speedily and some late hitting from the visitors helped them to 101 for 4 off a full 46 overs.

In the Championship, Worksop won by 29 runs against Papplewick and Linby.

The home side won the toss and elected to bat and were all out for 159 with Reuben Singh taking five wickets. Jack Atherton hit 27 and Mark Ambrose and Bernhard Beukman both added 25 each.

In response, the away side were all out for 130. Joe Walker top scored with 58 as Harry Taylor claimed four wickets.

Elsewhere, in Division Four, Clumber Park 2nd XI won by 148 runs against Worksop 2nd XI.

The home team won the toss elected to bat and made 219-6 from 46 overs but Worksop were all out for 71 with Geoffrey Young hitting 18 runs.