Bassetlaw Sports Awards launched for 2012

BASSETLAW will celebrate a fantastic year of sport with the 16th annual sports awards, which were launched this week.

By The Newsroom
Saturday, 4th August 2012, 10:12 am

The Worksop Guardian sponsored event will be held on 7th December at Retford Oaks Academy, and a trio of Bassetlaw Olympic torch bearers joined forces to encourage the public to nominate the district’s sporting heroes.

This year’s awards are likely to recognise some of the achievements of sports clubs linked to the Bassetlaw Games, a campaign set up to establish a local legacy from the London 2012 Olympic Games.

Over 50,000 of the district’s residents have been involved in events linked to Olympic sports, and a Worksop Harriers initiative saw a Bassetlaw torch relay visit every single school in the district.

Three locals who were lucky enough to carry the official 2012 Olympic torch joined chairman of Bassetlaw Council Ian Campbell to launch the sports awards.

Tony Eaton from Help the Heroes, Worksop Harriers coach Michele Harrop and Worksop street dancer Keeley Shaw gave their backing to the nomination process, to see clubs, volunteers and sportsmen and women recognised for their efforts this year.

Awards will be presented for the following categories: Sportsman of the Year (Under 14 Years), Sportswoman of the Year (Under 14 Years), Sportsman of the Year (14-18 Years), Sportswoman of the Year (14-18 Years), Sports Person of the Year (Over 18 Years), Junior Sports Team of the Year, Sports Club of the Year, Junior Sports Volunteer of the Year, Senior Sports Volunteer of the Year and Lifetime Achievement in Sport.

The Bassetlaw Sports Awards are organised by Bassetlaw Council’s Sports Development Service.

Coun Ian Campbell said: “This year has been a superb year for sport.”

“From the Euros, Tour de France and now the Olympics, to the Bassetlaw Games across the district, people have been watching and getting involved.”

“The Bassetlaw Sports Awards offers the chance to recognise local sporting achievements, celebrate the work of volunteers and highlight the stars of the future.”

Nominations for the 11 categories close on Friday 9th November.