Sheffield Wednesday: Young Hirst ready to lead England Under-17 challenge

Promising striker George Hirst has capped off his fine breakthrough season by being selected in the England Under-17s squad for the European Championships in Azerbaijan this week.

By The Newsroom
Wednesday, 4th May 2016, 3:14 pm
Updated Wednesday, 4th May 2016, 3:16 pm
George Hirst
George Hirst

Hirst, the son of Owls legend David, will be hoping to lead the line when the Three Lions take on Sweden in their opening match of the tournament tomorrow. Holders France and Denmark make up the rest of Group C.

Hirst junior’s international call-up comes just five weeks after he penned his maiden pro contract with Wednesday. The 17-year-old, who has impressed at U18 and U21 level, is contracted to the Championship outfit until 2018.

The Owls’ academy staff have high hopes for George, who scored two goals against Germany for the England U17s side in the Algarve competition earlier this year.

“This has been a season to remember, that is for certain,” said George, after committing his long-term future to the club. “Getting the England call-up was an amazing experience and the goals topped it off for me really. Now I have got a taste for it, I want even more.”

After locking horns with Sweden, England meet France three days later before their final group fixture against Denmark on Thursday, May 12.

Full England Under-17 squad:

Goalkeepers: Jared Thompson (Chelsea), Ryan Sandford (Millwall)

Defenders: Trevoh Chalobah (Chelsea), Edward Francis (Manchester City), Tolaji Bola (Arsenal), Dujon Sterling (Chelsea), Jaden Brown (Tottenham Hotspur), Morgan Feeney (Everton)

Midfielders: Marcus McGuane (Arsenal), Andre Dozzell (Ipswich Town), Dennis Adeniran (Fulham), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham)

Forwards: Reiss Nelson (Arsenal), Ben Morris (Ipswich Town), Joshua Bohui (Brentford), Samuel Shashoua (Tottenham Hotspur), George Hirst (Sheffield Wednesday)

The Draw:

Group A: Azerbaijan (hosts), Portugal, Belgium, Scotland

Group B: Ukraine, Germany, Austria, Bosnia & Herzegovina

Group C: France (holders), Denmark, England, Sweden

Group D: Italy, Serbia, Netherlands, Spain