Tories seize all three seats up for grabs in Bassetlaw District Council by-election

The Conservatives have won all three seats up for grabs in today’s Bassetlaw District Council by-election.

By Sophie Wills
Friday, 7th May 2021, 5:28 pm

The Ranskill, Sutton and Tuxford and Trent wards all voted blue.

It comes during a great day for Bassetlaw Conservatives in the Nottinghamshire County Council elections, with the party seizing control of the authority.

The Tories retained or gained six of the nine available Bassetlaw posts – most notably in Labour strongholds Worksop South and Worksop North, with Bassetlaw District councillor and Kevin Greaves and Nottinghamshire Labour group leader Alan Rhodes losing their seats.

The results of today's Bassetlaw District Council by-election.

Here are the by-election results in full:


Conservatives: Gerald Bowers - 454 votes (ELECTED)

Liberal Democrats: Leon Duveen - 74 votes

Independent: Michael Gray - 193 votes


Conservative: Denise Depledge - 422 votes (ELECTED)

Liberal Democrats: Richard Harris - 107 votes

Labour: Laura Sanders - 134 votes

Tuxford and Trent

Labour: David Naylor - 472 votes

Liberal Democrats: James Nixon - 75 votes

In these confusing and worrying times, local journalism is more vital than ever. Thanks to everyone who helps us ask the questions that matter by taking out a subscription or buying a paper. We stand together. Sam Jackson, editor.