Notts youth awards nominations now open

Nottinghamshire County Council is set to showcase some of the county's top young achievers in the run up to the youth awards this year.

Social media channels will help to promote the search for young stars in the run up to the 2016 4Uth Awards.

The top young achievers who have been nominated for the awards will be profiled on networks such as Instagram and Twitter.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Instagram alone has 14 million users across the UK with many of its users in the 16-24 age group with young people keen to post up photos and videos on the popular network.

The annual 4Uth awards recognise the outstanding achievements of young people across the county for a variety of different areas such as outstanding achievement, caring for others, vital contribution within a local community and overcoming adversity.

Nominations open today until June 10, then district youth panels will shortlist three top nominees and select district winners who will then receive their awards at a special awards ceremony at County Hall on October 28.

During that evening, the overall countywide winner will be named.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Sami Ayoub, the 15-year-old UK Youth Parliament member for Broxtowe and member of Nottinghamshire Youth Parliament, has backed this year’s campaign.

The teenager, from Central Avenue, Beeston, was in the news last year as he represented the county in the Make Your Mark campaign debate at the House of Commons highlighting current issues affecting young people today.

Sami said: “Most young people are active on social media and it is a great idea that Instagram and Twitter will feature some of the nominees this year. It will not only raise the profile of the young people featured, but hopefully encourage peers and friends in their communities to nominate other worthy candidates.”

Councillor Alan Rhodes, council leader, and Councillor Liz Plant, committee vice-chairman for children and young people’s services, will help to judge the overall winner of the 4Uth awards.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Coun Rhodes said: “We had record nominations last year with around 130 young people being put forward for the awards. Every year, inspirational stories of young people making a huge difference to those close to them and their local communities are told, and we are looking forward to another great response across Nottinghamshire this year.”

Last year’s district winners were:

• Ashfield District winner: Sarah Clarke

• Bassetlaw District winner: Aidan Needham

• Broxtowe District winner: Darcey Carnelley

• Gedling District winner: Lewis Betteley-Vickers

• Mansfield District winner: Nathan Beckett

• Newark and Sherwood District winner: Jasia Byatt

• Rushcliffe District winner: Brandon Aughton

The overall county winner was Jasia Byatt, who had been nominated for her commitment as a volunteer worker at a Rainworth club whilst overcoming profound disabilities.

Councillor Liz Plant said: “Jasia was undeterred by whatever challenge she has faced in her life and she was a very worthy winner in an outstanding contest last year with so many excellent district winners.

“The 4Uth awards present a wonderful opportunity for people to raise the profile of the fantastic achievements of young people across all seven districts in the county which might otherwise go unnoticed.”

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Find out more about the awards and nominate on Nottinghamshire County Council’s website at and #4Uth