New home for customer service point in Worksop

NOTTS County Council’s customer service point in Worksop is on the move in the New Year.

By The Newsroom
Monday, 10th December 2012, 2:03 pm

It will move from its current base at Queen’s Buildings, Potter Street, to Worksop Library on Memorial Avenue, re-opening on 2nd January 2013.

The new customer service point will provide face-to-face advice and information on more than 400 county council services from blue badge permits and school meals to concessionary bus passes and household waste permits.

The Worksop customer service point has dealt with more than 7,000 enquiries in the last year.

Operating from the Worksop Library building will mean that the customer service point will be under the same roof as a number of other departments, making it a one-stop shop for County Council services in Worksop.

Other services already based at Worksop Library include the library, register office, young people’s centre, day service, adult community learning and community learning disability team.

Opening times have increased from three to five days per week at the new base. Opening hours will be 9.30am to 5pm Monday to Thursday and 9.30am to 4.30pm on Friday.

Deputy council leader Martin Suthers said: “Moving the customer service point to the library complex not only saves the County Council money, it also makes accessing services easier for the people of Worksop by co-locating it with a number of other departments.”

“Worksop Library is a modern, welcoming facility and ideal new home for our customer service point. The move to Memorial Avenue means that we have been able to retain a convenient town centre location with good access and car parking.”

He added: “Our nine customer service points remain extremely popular with the public and mean that however you want to get in touch with the County Council - in person, by phone or online - we are accessible to all.”

Notts County Council has eight other customer service points located around the county at Retford, Mansfield, Sutton-in-Ashfield, Arnold, Newark, Beeston, Harworth, Eastwood and Hucknall.

Information about county council services is also available from the Customer Contact Centre on 0300 500 80 80 or from the website at