Judges reveal the shortlist for the DN21 awards

Judges for the DN21 Awards have announced their shortlist of hopefuls for this year's celebration of Gainsborough's very best businesses.

By The Newsroom
Wednesday, 11th May 2016, 3:52 pm
Updated Wednesday, 11th May 2016, 4:56 pm
Alll the winners from the DN21 Awards
Alll the winners from the DN21 Awards

For the second year running, Marshall’s Yard shopping complex and Gainsborough Trinity Football Club have joined together to celebrate town businesses.

Richard Kane, Trinity chairman, said: “We are extremely excited to host the DN21 Awards for the businesses in the town and have been overwhelmed by the response. We received more than 100 entries and the calibre was extremely high, making this a difficult task for our judges.”

Ten awards will be given out in total at the event on Thursday, June 2, which is due to be held at The Blues Club.

Over the past two months, businesses have been nominating themselves for the awards.

The finalists are as follows;

Customer Service Team of the Year 2016 - Sponsored by Gainsborough Town Council: Emmalooos; Barnes Jewellers; M&S Simply Food; Laura Ashley; The Body Shop and Boots.

Community Engagement Award 2016 - Sponsored by Pygott & Crone: Acis Group; Riverside Training; Lincolnshire Electrical Wholesalers; 6c’s Mechanical Services; The Darron Childs Practice and Sills & Betteridge.

Green Business of the Year 2016 - Sponsored by Waste Cost Reduction Services: M&S Simply Food; Gainsborough Furniture & Resource Centre; Elite Pest Control and Stanley Hunt Jewellers.

Independent Retailer of the Year 2016 - Sponsored by West Lindsey District Council: Cute Cups; Stanley Hunt Jewellers; Browns Department Store; Jasmine Tree; Pink Pamper and Horsley’s.

Business of the Year 2016 - Sponsored by HSBC: Lincolnshire Electrical Wholesalers; AMP Rose; Elite Signs; Kal Group and SEO Traffic Lab.

Business Person of the Year 2016 - Sponsored by Horsley’s: Richard Hill of SEO Traffic Lab; Andrew Johnson of Lincolnshire Electrical Wholesalers; Pauline Arnold of M&S Simply Food and Wendy Stephenson of Browns Department Store.

Shining Star Individual Award 2016 - Sponsored by EDF Energy: Charlotte Thorpe of Bella Fiore; Helen Stocks of Boots; Kerry Eaton of Sills & Betteridge and Maggie Brown of McDonalds.

Best New Business 2016 - Sponsored by Wright Vigar: Blush Venue Decor; Drumbeat Marketing UK; Fun Printz and Parr Contracting.

Social Media Award 2016 - Sponsored by MMC: Vertical Fitness & Vertical Joy; Fun Printz; Stanley Hunt Jewellers and Jasmine Tree.

In addition to these nine awards, the public have been invited to vote for their ‘Retailer of the Year’, sponsored by Martin & Co, by giving their vote to the store who they feel deserves to win.

Independent judges Ian Green, relationships manager for HSBC, and Bernadette Rushton, Rotherham Borough Council retail investment manager and Association of Town Centre Management regional chairman, will now carry out mystery shopping exercises and interviews to determine the winners.

Alison Hall, Marshall’s Yard centre manager, said: “We are excited about holding these awards again this year, joining up with the whole town.

“The businesses which have been shortlisted are delighted with the news.

“There is a real buzz of excitement in Gainsborough at the moment.”