How will you vote in the 2013 county elections?

Nottingham County HallNottingham County Hall
Nottingham County Hall
Worksop residents are being reminded to cast their votes in this year’s Notts County Council elections which will take place on Thursday 2nd May.

The authority last held its elections in June 2009, with the Conservatives securing 35 seats of the 67 total available seats, Labour 13, Liberal Democrat nine and Independent candidates 10 seats.

The turn-out for Notts County Council’s election then was 39.43 per cent.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Following by-elections and other changes, Labour have now gained three seats from the Independents but will need to gain at least 18 seats next week to take control of the council.

Bassetlaw candidates for the Retford area this year are:

Worksop East: Wayne Clarke (Conservative), Glynn Gilfoyle (Labour), Dave Scott (UKIP), Carole Thompson (Liberal Democrat); Worksop North: Helen Cooper(Liberal Democrat), Sybil Fielding (Labour), Michael Gray (Conservative), Ivor Jones (UKIP); Worksop North East and Carlton: Barry Bowles (Conservative), Tony Clayton (UKIP), Alan Rhodes (Labour); Worksop West: Leon Duveen (Liberal Democrat), Kevin Greaves (Labour), Mick Lowe (UKIP), Alec Thorpe (Conservative); Blyth and Harworth: Sheila Place (Labour and Co-Operative), Annette Simpson (Conservative), Peter Thompson (Liberal Democrat), Roger Vernon (UKIP).

Polling stations will be open from 7am-10pm on Thursday 2nd May.

Residents should already have received their polling cards with details of their nearest station.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Votes will be counted and verified in Bassetlaw from 1oam the following day at North Notts Arena in Worksop.

Countywide results will be annonced by Notts County Council’s returning officer chief executive Mick Burrows at County Hall as they come in from noon on Friday 3rd May.

You can also keep up to date with the election results as they happen by following @nottscc #VoteNotts on Twitter or by checking the website www/

Here’s a look at the four main parties who tell us why they deserve your vote on 2nd May.