Council has a new look cabinet

Bolsover Council has named its new cabinet for the forthcoming year with two new members taking up positions at the authority.

By The Newsroom
Saturday, 18th May 2013, 1:09 pm
Bolsover Council leader Eion Watts
Bolsover Council leader Eion Watts

Coun Eion Watts remains as leader, a position he has held since 2003, and has overall responsibility for finance and policy.

Councillors Karl Reid and Rose Bowler are the new members and replace Councillors Duncan McGregor and Keith Bowman who have both stepped down from the cabinet.

Coun Watts is responsible for choosing his cabinet and allocated councillors with a portfolio as follows - Coun Eion Watts - council leader, finance and policy; Coun Alan Tomlinson – council deputy leader and regeneration; Coun Rose Bowler - customer service; Coun Karl Reid - housing management; Coun Brian Murray-Carr - community safety; Coun Dennis Kelly - environment and Coun Ann Syrett - social inclusion.

Coun Watts said: “We have two new cabinet members who will bring with them a new approach and fresh ideas, so we are really looking forward to working with them and getting stuck into our work over the next year. Growth and investment in the district is one of our top priorities this year and I feel we have the right blend of knowledge, skill and experience in our cabinet to achieve our aims.”