Bassetlaw: A1 Housing team picks up gas safety gong

AGSM Gas Safety awardds 2014 at the Belfrey. Picture by Shaun Fellows / Shine Pix
AGSM Gas Safety awardds 2014 at the Belfrey. Picture by Shaun Fellows / Shine Pix

Bassetlaw’s A1 Housing has been celebrated for its dedication to gas safety management by picking up a prestigious award at the inaugural Association of Gas Safety Managers (ASGM) awards evening.

The organisation, which looks after social housing on behalf of Bassetlaw Council, picked up one of the top awards of the glittering ceremony.

The gong presented to the team was the President’s Award for Outstanding Contribution to the work of the Association of Gas Safety Management.

Having beaten off fierce competition from other highly respected organisations, Bernard Coleman, managing director at A1 Housing said: “The award is an outstanding achievement not only for A1 Housing, but for the staff involved whose time and dedication have ensured that the service we provide to tenants is one of the very best in the country.”

Chris Bielby, President of the AGSM said: “This organisation has undergone a detailed review of its gas safety processes to achieve the high standard of CORGI Accreditation and is also one of the AGSM Corporate members.”

“A1 Housing further promotes the objectives of the AGSM and strives to achieve the highest standards in gas safety working closely with CORGI and other AGSM members.”

Over the last 12 months, A1 Housing has become only the second ALMO in the

Pictured from left is awards host Sky Sports presenter Charlie Webster, Stuart Morris A1 Housing’s head of finance, Andrew Steen A1 housing’s heating, mechanical and electrical manager and Chris Bielby president of the AGSM.